There are many different ways that people in Georgia relax, unwind or have a good time. People may spend time with or do various activities with friends or family. They may go to parties or other events or simply spend time by themselves. In any of these situations people may also drink alcohol or consume marijuana in various forms to aid in their enjoyment. While alcohol is legal for people to consume, marijuana is not.
Most people use marijuana recreationally and usually have relatively small amounts in their possession at any time. If people have less than an ounce in their possession, it is a misdemeanor. However, in order to possess a small amount of marijuana people need to buy it from a dealer. People who sell marijuana generally have much more marijuana than a recreational user and the penalties if people are caught selling increase significantly.
Penalties depend on the amount
Just as the penalties increase for just possession, the penalties increase the more that people possess when selling marijuana. People who have 10 pounds or less will be charged with a felony and could be sentenced to jail for a period of 1 – 10 years. If the person has between 10 pounds and 2000 pounds they could be put in jail for a minimum of five years and have a mandatory $100,000 fine. If the amount is between 2,000 pounds and 10,000 pounds the minimum jail sentence is seven years and a mandatory fine of $250,000. If it is more than 10,000 pounds, the minimum jail sentence is 15 years and a $1,000,000.
These are just the potential penalties for selling marijuana in Georgia though. People who are charged with selling marijuana are innocent until proven guilty and there may be defenses available to them. These defenses start with whether the police had a valid reason to stop and search the person or their property. Experienced attorneys understand the potential defenses and may be able to help protect one’s rights.