On average, the Camden County Sheriff’s Office has approximately five DUI arrests during any given weekend.
The weekend leading up to Halloween proverbially smashed those records with outcomes that, in the end, could have been scarier. A total of 20 people were arrested in the county for driving under the influence. Most of them had one thing in common. They were leaving the annual Georgia-Florida game in Jacksonville. Others were heading to their residences after tailgating or watching the game with family and friends, where alcohol was served.
Thankfully, no crashes occurred among the 20 drivers.
Zero tolerance for drunk driving
Drunk driving in Georgia carries severe consequences. The state has a zero-tolerance policy in place. Drivers younger than 21 should not have a BAC over .02 percent, with penalties based on the exact concentration. First offenses can result in fines up to $1,000 and a license suspension of six months. Twenty-four hours to twelve months could be spent in jail, not to mention community service.
Should minors go above .08, they can be charged as adults. First-offense fines are similar. However, license suspension and jail time can last a year combined with 40 hours of community service. Second and third offenses for either crime maxes out at $5,000 in fines, license suspension of five years, and jail time up to one year for a BAC above .08.
Those who choose to drive drunk when they are 15 years or younger will have their license suspended until they reach 17 years of age. Second offenses will increase suspension by one year.
DUI courses, substance abuse treatment, and installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) paid for by the individual convicted (or their parents) are also possible.
One weekend of celebrating an annual tradition can change lives. Help from an experienced DUI attorney can make a difference in the severity of the consequences.